Avada theme registers thumbnails for many elements and sometimes some of the thumbnails do not necessarily fit your needs and you want to tweak the width and height. Now its not possible to change those thumbnails size from the provided Theme Options of Avada theme but in this tutorial, I will show the list of thumbnails that Avada theme registers and how to change a specific thumbnail from the list.

Below is the complete list of Avada thumbnails:

  • Blog Large Layout => ‘blog-large’, 669, 272
  • Blog Medium Layout => ‘blog-medium’, 320, 202
  • Recent Posts with Standard Layout => ‘recent-posts’, 700, 441
  • Recent Posts Thumbnail on Side Layout => ‘portfolio-five’, 177, 142
  • Recent Posts Widget => ‘recent-works-thumbnail’, 66, 66
  • Portfolio Full Layout => ‘portfolio-full’, 940, 400
  • Portfolio One Column Layout => ‘portfolio-one’, 540, 272
  • Portfolio Two Column Layout => ‘portfolio-two’, 460, 295
  • Portfolio Three Column Layout => ‘portfolio-three’, 300, 214
  • Portfolio Five Column Layout => ‘portfolio-five’, 177, 142

The above list is the complete names of Elements that Avada theme uses and registers the thumbnail along with their width and height. Now in order to change the width and height of any thumbnail from the above list, below is an example code which can be used in functions.php file of a Child Theme to change a thumbnail size.

// Code to change image size for Recent Posts Thumbnail on Side layout
add_action( 'after_setup_theme', 'avada_theme_thumbnail_change', 11 );
function avada_theme_thumbnail_change() {
	remove_image_size( 'portfolio-five' ); 
	add_image_size( 'portfolio-five', 300, 241, true );
}

Once the code is added, its required to install the Regenerate Thumbnails plugin and running it from Dashboard -> Tools section. Without this last step, the changes won’t take effect for old images of the website. The above example code will change the thumbnail size of Recent Posts element when using Thumbnail on Side layout. You can change the names of thumbnail in above code with the above provided list (the bold part).

Removing a specific thumbnail:

Removing a thumbnail is pretty much the same process except that you need a tweak to the above mentioned code. In case of completely removing a thumbnail, below code can be utilized in functions.php file of your Child theme.

// Code to change image size for Recent Posts Thumbnail on Side layout
add_action( 'after_setup_theme', 'avada_theme_thumbnail_removal', 11 );
function avada_theme_thumbnail_removal() {
	remove_image_size( 'portfolio-five' ); 
}